Wake Up and Makeup

I have always had a love of makeup and what it can do, so I decided to make an icon set of the different makeup products I use. I started of with my sketches. They were very rough, considering I am not the best at drawing, but it left me room for interpretation. I sketched different idea I had for the different icons I wanted to create. I thought of actually products I used and even used those items as inspiration.

After I had my sketches done, I went to work in Adobe Illustrator making vector graphic drafts. I worked to add shadows and make them look realistic and more 3D than 2D:

Icon Draft.png

I made a mascara wand with a smear, eyelashes, lip gloss, nail polish, eyeliner with a streak, and lipstick. However, I could see that it was going to be hard to see the the lashes, as well as the smear and eyeliner streak. I went back to work and created 6 additional icons–ones that would work better when it came time to blow them up or to shrink. I stuck to a general color scheme and carried that throughput my icons.

makeup-icon-finished-set

The 12 Icons are the finished set. I’ve been able to see that I can actually work in Adobe Illustrator to create things the way I see them. I learned the value of repetition and carried that throughout my icon set. I had them at different angles before, but decided to make them all point upward.

Leave a Reply

