Media Observation 3: Coca-Cola’s “Share a Coke”

26 April 2016:

Coca-Cola’s “Share a Coke with Bobby” commercial is genius in my eyes. I liked that this commercial focuses around a dog. When people see a dog they automatically have an “Awwww” response. They are playing off your emotions and getting you to associated their product with a good emotion of yours.

The song playing in the background has a beat that is fun to hold you attention. They use a song with lyrics that correspond with the message they are sending. They want to give you a sense that “that’s not my name” so that you will keep searching for your name. I love that the music gives a sense of excitement. It pulls you in and makes you want to see if the dog finds it’s name.

Coca-Cola wants you to believe that every name is out there somewhere on a bottle. They want you spend time with their product. I believe after so long of searching, that even if you can’t find your own name, you’ll still buy a coke anyways. The more time spent looking at the coke bottle, the more you’ll want to buy one.

At the end of the commercial, the dog along with several other dogs all found the name they were looking for. It sends a message to the audience that their name can be found if they keeps searching. I believe people will keep searching too. I have a unique name and I found myself looking for my name on a coke bottle every time I went to the store. I observed others doing the same as well.

This commercial is well done, as well as the entire #shareacoke campaign. It’s is brilliant in my eyes. While you are searching for your name you come across other names that belong to your friends. You are now willing to buy a coke just because it has you friends name one it. Also, people take pictures with the coke they found, offering more advertising for the coke company. They talk about it, they gives away cokes to friends and family members, the advertising they get that they don’t have to pay for is endless.

Here are some examples of photos people have taken:

 

Leave a Reply

