Project 8: Brochure

Front, Back, Inside:

Description: Create a full bleed, two sided, folding brochure

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): The first step I took was designing my logo in Adobe Illustrator. I wanted my logo to have a modern feel to it, so I came up with the idea of the repeating circles. I chose a font I felt had a similar vibe. I used to shape tool to make the circle and then held down the “option” button to repeat the same size circle. I learned how to import fonts into the adobe programs and used them to create the text. I then tool the line tool and created the line under the makeup artists name.

The next step was setting up the brochure in Adobe InDesign. I wanted a tri-fold, so I used the ruler tool to insure I had the measurements right. After I placed the rulers on my design, I found the images I wanted to use and imported them into the design. I edited more of them in Photoshop and added a cool-colored filter to them to better match the colors of my brochure. I added shapes through using the pen tool and lowered the opacity to have a more modern effect.

To style the paragraphs, I created a paragraph style. I set the style to have no hyphens, be specific font, size, and spacing. After creating it I applied it to my body copy. I then made some headings to add hierarchy to the text. I had the text wrap around these headings. I took a photo in Photoshop and cut out the background. After doing so, I then took the stepping for the text to wrap around that photo as well.

I wanted the front to have a cutout triangle shape, so I used to line tool and ruler to show me where to mark. Through doing this, I was able to know where to cut on my final printout.

Message: A makeup artist with plenty of experience. One who is well trained in her practice and understands quality makeup.

Audience: I wanted to appeal to those looking for someone who knows what they’re doing with makeup. I wanted to communicate with them both visually and written of the work the makeup artist has done.

Top Thing Learned: Text wrap–how to manipulate the text to go around the image.

Color scheme and color names: Monochromatic – Black, white, and grey

Title Font Name & Category: Bromello – Script

Copy Font Name & Category: Aviar New – San Serif

Word Count of copy: 269

Thumbnails of Images used:

Sources (Links to images on original websites):

    1. http://theultralinx.com/2014/02/random-inspiration-121-architecture-cars-girls-style-gear/
    2. https://realtechniques.com/shop-collection#!/bold-metals-collection?utm_campaign=social_2015&utm_source=pinterest&utm_medium=social
    3. http://www.thegloss.com/2015/01/07/beauty/cheap-blush-foundation-concealer-under-five-dollars-drugstore-shopping-guide/
    4. http://www.thelovecatsinc.com/2015/10/charlotte-tilbury-the-golden-goddess.html
3 thoughts on “Project 8: Brochure

  1. Pingback: Project 8: Brochure – Call Me The Blonde

  2. Maia,
    You did an amazing job! I really enjoyed the triangular theme that went throughout your design. I really enjoyed your photos. Your photos really depict the theme of your design. I really enjoyed your typography. I liked how it added more character to your design. And your text wrap was cleverly done. I had to do a double look, to find it. You did a really good job!

    Here is Lauryn’s : https://lauryncomm130.wordpress.com/ .

    Like

Leave a Reply

